Liberal Democrats Announce Strong Team Of 14 candidates To Fight City Council Election

Liberal Democrats in Aberdeen have announced that they will be fielding a team of 14 candidates to fight the Aberdeen City Council election on 4th May. Four Liberal Democrats defending their seats – Steve Delaney, Martin Greig, Jennifer, Stewart and Ian Yuill – will be joined by 10 other candidates.

The Liberal Democrats are fielding one candidate in 12 of the 13 wards in the city. The exception is Hazlehead/Queens Cross/Countesswells ward where both sitting Liberal Democrat councillors Martin Greig and Jennifer Stewart will be defending their seats.

The Liberal Democrats team of candidates includes former head of the Aberdeen schools music service Ken McLeod who is seeking to replace retiring Liberal Democrat Aileen Malone as councillor for Lower Deeside, leading North East environmental campaigner Gregor McAbery, standing in Torry/Ferryhill, and former children’s charity Chief Executive Karen Marr, who is contesting Bridge of Don. Dyce/Bucksburn/Danestone is being contested by former Aberdeen councillor Dorothy Pearce and University of Aberdeen student activist John Waddell is standing in George Street/Harbour.

Liberal Democrat Leader on Aberdeen City Council Ian Yuill said: “We are delighted to have such a strong team of candidates across Aberdeen. It is already clear that many people are hugely disappointed with the performance
of the Labour, Conservative and Independent councillors who have controlled Aberdeen City Council for the last five years. People are also telling us that the SNP’s fixation on another independence referendum is not what a local council should be about.

“People want local councillors who will focus on Aberdeen and the communities and people they represent. That is what Liberal Democrats have done over the last five years – and that will continue to be our priority. The Liberal Democrats want to see greater investment in repairing the city’s crumbling roads and pavements, significant improvements to our city centre and more resources for our city’s schools.”

The full list of Liberal Democrat candidates is:

Ward 1. Dyce/Bucksburn/Danestone : Dorothy Pearce
Ward 2. Bridge of Don : Karen Farquhar
Ward 3. Kingswells/Sheddocksley/Summerhill : Steve Delaney
Ward 4. Northfield/Mastrick North : Sam Forman
Ward 5. Hilton/Woodside/Stockethill : Sam Petchey
Ward 6. Tillydrone/Seaton/Old Aberdeen : Jenny Wilson
Ward 7. Midstocket/Rosemount : William Sell
Ward 8. George St/Harbour : John Waddell
Ward 9. Lower Deeside : Ken McLeod
Ward 10. Hazlehead/Queens Cross/Countesswells : Martin Greig and Jennifer Stewart
Ward 11. Airyhall/Broomhill/Garthdee : Ian Yuill
Ward 12. Torry/Ferryhill : Gregor McAbery
Ward 13. Kincorth/Nigg/Cove : Cameron Finnie